Mum’s the word.

I read an article this morning here which was a response to this article here. Both interesteing perspectives on Motherhood. They made me think about my own journey being a mother.

I think about the months of waiting…

Wondering…

Longing to meet bubs…

Not knowing exactly what to expect but excited to be able to finally hold your newborn treasure..

Then come the sleepless nights, the hazy days and the extra washing, etc. You settle into a haze of sleep deprivation and tiredness. Although I was blessed with a quick feeder (I would be up for 15-20mins tops overnight with Tilly…feed, nappy change, burb, feed, burp, bed) & an excellent sleeper (Zoe slept 7 hrs through the night from 1 1/2 weeks old), I still have hazy days and sleepless nights.

Just on Sunday after a few nights of the girls waking constantly overnight with bad dreams and teething I found myself curled up in a ball sobbing on the dining room floor. Too tired to deal with another ‘mum, mum, mum’, too tired to deal with another ‘i’m hungry’ 5 minutes after being fed & too tired to have the energy to think about what else we could do just so that the TV wasn’t going all day long again. I just needed a break, a breather to refresh myself and my energy. Time to find space in my head to see through the fog and look for the good again. Thankfully an early night and some sleep has helped and I can again see the beauty in my ‘job’ again.

I can look past the moments

and see the delight of motherhood

I can see the beauty

and once again thank God that I have been given this opportunity to be called ‘Mummy’

I know there will probably be more days like Sunday and more sleepless nights and hazy days but for now I am treasuring the gift of time that I have with my girls while I have it and am enjoying the delightful journey that I have been given.

5 Comments

Filed under Our Family

5 responses to “Mum’s the word.

  1. Tania

    You are beautiful… fills my eyes with tears. I can relate to the dinning room floor experience – over the last 8 years I have had a few of those. What a blessing those moments are too. Lovely blog and pics Jodi. Thank you for sharing. xx

  2. Peta

    TEARS here!!! Jodi – THANKYOU!!!! Thankyou for sharing. Thankyou for putting “you” out there. Thankyou for making me realise its not a bad thing to ‘need’ time out…Thankyou for letting me see such a BEAUTIFUL pictorial and loving aspects of motherhood…. now I want to put together a pictural like this – I will find time – I will make time!!! xxx

  3. Malinda

    oh jodi tear here too!!!!

    your blog post is soooo true…and I must say very well said/written/put!!!

    thank you!

  4. Oh. Sob. So beautiful. And so real. How often do we end up crying or going crazy hearing the words “MUMMY!” Thanks for a beautiful post. Certainly worth waiting for. xx

  5. Malinda

    time for a new post jode! I love reading your blog!

    and now I am off to think of something to do with Is so that the TV can go off!!!!!

Leave a Reply

