June 15 – Waste not, want not.

Not really a lesson I learnt today but a lesson I reinforced today.

I have learnt while growing up to be resourceful. To not be wasteful. To turn old things into new things. I think I am fairly good at this. Tonight I had cooked too much potato for dinner, so I pulled out my recipe book full of recipes I collect from my wonderful Mother and made up a potato cake. It is something Mum does when she has left over potato.

It’s quick and easy to make and oh so yummy 🙂

It is just-

1 cup of warm mashed potato
1 cup of sugar
2 cups of SR flour

Mix together with enough milk to make moist and bake in a greased loaf tin for 20-30mins on 180deg.

So easy and it makes a yummy treat to enjoy with a cuppa. Cut, butter and Enjoy 😀

3 Comments

Filed under Our Family, Simple living, You learn something new every day

3 responses to “June 15 – Waste not, want not.

  1. Ooh, this looks like something that my husband would eat for breakfast! YUM!

  2. vicki

    its so very easy and yummy but you forgot the saltanas 🙂

  3. I leave them out on purpose 😛

Leave a Reply

