June 13 – Teaching/Learning independence takes time.

Today at lunch time Tilly asked to make her own sandwich. She has done it a couple of times now and sometimes I say yes and sometimes I can’t be bothered waiting and I say no. Today was a yes day. I know she needs the practise in order to learn and develop her own independence and skills as a sandwich maker in her own right πŸ™‚ So I thought I would capture the even to share with you all.

Step one: Choose your bread (of course she chose crust…her favourite piece)-

Step 2: Apply margarine-

Step 3: Apply your choice of topping (Matilda’s choice today… Golden syrup… interesting choice)-

Sometimes a little extra effort is needed πŸ˜‰

Step 4: Apply a pinch of sprinkles (needed on top of all sandwiches Matilda makes herself)-

Ok, so a pinch wasn’t enough-

But really… the whole jar? (being a good Mummy and not interrupting the process πŸ™‚ ).

Phew… at least some go back. Hahahahah-

See Mum… I did it myself-

Step 5: Cut into desired sized pieces and eat πŸ™‚

Good work Princess! Now can you please make mine and Zoe’s too? No Mummy I eat mine now. Oh well it was worth a try πŸ™‚ Guess I still have to feed myself and the baby πŸ™‚

3 Comments

Filed under Our Family, You learn something new every day

3 responses to “June 13 – Teaching/Learning independence takes time.

  1. Oh this is HILARIOUS! I love the choices, the sprinkles, the recycling, and the facial expressions. Priceless! Thanks for sharing.

  2. vicki

    oh Aunty so wants one of these perhaps with all this practice she can make me one when she comes up, such a big girl πŸ™‚

  3. jo

    omg thts just gorgeous. lil kiddies r sooo cute

Leave a Reply

